What are your favorite songs about rain?

Tons of posts on Facebook lately are about Typhoon Gorio and the endless strong rains it’s causing. I’m one of those posting. I lay in bed last night, anxious about the rain and the possible problems it may bring. The drenched shoes, wet feet, brownout, landslide, flooding, gawd!

Flooding is especially disgusting because the street outside my apartment is  littered with dog poop everyday and I have to walk in the sloped surface to get transportation. Imagine the dog poop soup rushing into your feet like excited pets. Eww!

The drenched shoes and wet feet, although inconvenient, may be helped with my trusty blow dryer. But, the moment the power goes out, expected in this season, all my rage will turn to Beneco. Forget the flooding et al., I’ll curse the lack of electricity the most. Ewan ko ba.

Anyway, as I stared at the wall, I thought, “Who the hell is singing so bad that he brought about this much rain?”

It’s an old joke, right. When somebody is singing, we Pinoys say, “Ui tama na yan. Pauulanin mo pa eh, wala akong payong.” (Stop it. You’ll make it rain and I have no umbrella.)

I realized there are so many songs with Ulan or Rain the title, and a lot more songs that talk about it. Since I was trying to fall asleep, instead of counting sheep, I tried enumerating songs with Ulan or Rain in the title, and then every song I can think of that has rain in the lyrics, preferably in the chorus.

Wow, I came up with a lot before I fell asleep. Some are also favorites. I’ll list my top faves. You may add yours in the comments. Here’s to singing in the rain!

  1. November Rain by Guns N’ Roses (1992)

And it’s hard to hold a candle

in the cold November rain.

My top 1 rain song. I never saw the music video, though. I prefer the video of the live performance in Tokyo, Japan in 1992. When I’m in the mood, I watch it on my laptop with the speakers on loud and the lights off. And I imagine I’m that hot curly-haired girl singing backup for Axl.

 

2. Ulan by Cueshe (2005)

Lagi na lang umuulan.

Parang walang katapusan.

Lately, I’ve been playing OPM songs in the background while at work. This song was a great hit when I was younger. I had a huge crush on Ruben Caballero, on lead vocals & rhythm guitar. Sad that the band is no longer that active.

 

3. Purple Rain by Prince (1984)

Purple rain, purple rain

I only wanted to see you

Bathing in the purple rain.

I admit. I only knew this song when Adam Levine and Patrick Monahan performed it in Howard Stern’s birthday bash. I love its sexy vibe. Rest in peace, Prince.

 

 

4. Set Fire to the Rain by Adele (2011)

But I set fire to the rain

Watched it pour as I touched your face.

Well, it burned while I cried

Coz I heard it screaming out your name, your name.

A meme on Facebook tried to explain this chorus through comics and it was pretty hilarious. Still, it’s one of the top songs that come to mind when looking for rain-themed songs.

 

5. Through the Rain by Mariah (2002)

I can make it through the rain

I can stand up once again on my own

And I know that I’m strong enough to mend.

The first line itself had the word “rain.” Its inspirational lyrics and slow tempo makes it a great song to sing your heart out to during those videoke nights with your friends and you’re all sentimental or going through some rough times.

 

6. Ulan by Rivermaya (1993)

Sinong ‘di mapapasayaw sa ulan?

Sinong ‘di mababaliw sa ulan?

It was Rivermaya’s first single. Anthemic and so easy to sing along to, 90’s Pinoy music at its finest. The band can’t seem to stay together though.

 

7. Walking in the Rain by A1 (1999)

Feels like I’m walking in the rain

I find myself trying to wash away the pain

I’m a 90’s kid, so boy bands will inevitably appear on any list. Heheh. I love this band esp. Mark Read. It’s hard to sing this song without doing the gestures, poses and body language like you were in a 90’s music video.

 

8. Have You Ever Seen the Rain? by Creedence Clearwater Revival (1971)

I wanna know

Have you ever seen the rain

Comin’ down on a sunny day?

Okay, here’s another song that I learned about through a cover. In the battle rounds of the my favorite show, The Voice, Sawyer Fredericks and Noelle Bybee performed a haunting rendition of this song, and I was hooked. Sawyer won the season, by the way.

 

9. Tuwing Umuulan at Kapiling Ka by Regine (2001)

Buhos na ulan

Aking mundo’y lunuring tuluyan

Tulad ng pag-agos mo, di mapipigil ang puso kong nagliliyab

Like Adele, Regine put “rain” and “fire” at the same scene. And like Adele’s rain song, this is an ideal song to belt out when the storm is raging outside. Nothing like a good storm to release pent-up feelings by belting out a Regine song.

 

10. In the Rain by Lee Moon Sae (1985)

On the rainy street, I think of you

Deep in my heart, I think about the love that wasn’t meant to be

I walk in the rain all day long and think of you

Did you have to leave my heart in the rain just like this?

Lately, I’ve been into anything Korean. That includes music. I’m not into K-Pop though, only ballads new and old. The thing I love about Korean ballads is that they make you feel without understanding the language. Their music transcends language barriers. I listen to this song and weep for love lost, even before searching for translated lyrics online. I first heard this when a friend sent me a YouTube link, asking me to check out this Korean show, Fantastic Duo. I started watching a few episodes and came upon this song. I fell in love once again with a Korean ballad. Sigh.

So, what about you? What do you sing when it rains? What songs do you think about when it’s pouring outside and you’re snuggling with a cup of hot coffee? Let me know in the comments. ❤

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

